Blog

Poetry 101


There was a time, when I was a poet, I loved poetry and poems, I love the synergy, I love the way a poet flirted with words, how he could compare sentences with the frame of a woman, and produce something breath-taking and articulate. I love poetry, and I love every work that has been written here, especially by Frank Ejeagbasi, and Isaac Mensah, because they are two aspiring poets to watch for, 2014 is our year, and hopefully, “we’ll be making money this year”,God bless them, and may your pen never run dry. I stopped poetry when I lost a competition, and my friend here have motivated me, hopefully from them, I’d learn to be better, and reach the heights they have eclipsed. This is my own contribution to poetry;

“Poetic justice-Nigerian Personality”
‘Wole. Soyinka’.

I hear the stories of legends
from father delightful tales.

Stories of a nation with dismal beginning,
the tales of men written merely by oppression,
the qualms of injustice,
that superficial feeling molded by immorality.

“Dictatorial tyranny wreaked its havoc,
Defiled the position of usufructary,
Yet their accoutrements of death and mutilation:
couldn’t repel the struggle for justice
Surging the far horizons.

Even now oppression lingers till,
political tyrants ceasing to fade in dawn,
and we’re made to atone for sins,unknown,
the labourers,the barbers,the marketwoman,
the slowly dying underclass”.

Wars have been fought
and from its ashes have heroes been born,
even within heroes are bellwethers,
Men who displayed a far fairer display of brevity
and will.

Lips will forever wield the name of soyinka
pushing himself beyond exhaustion,
Yielding the clarion call for morality and fairness.
Our own white bearded gandalf
scourging injustice with a conqueror’s will.

2 thoughts on “Poetry 101

  1. Wow, such an inspiring intro to an awesome piece… It left me smiling through as I read till the end. And yes, 2014 is our year, we shall make that money…hopefully, but even if the money doesn’t come yet, we must make impact! I believe in us, I believe in the team, I believe in maximising our potentials. God bless the white bearded Proffesor. God bless HaliJay, God bless Mensah. We are going for 2014, watch us!

Leave a comment